> For clean Markdown of any page, append .md to the page URL.
> For a complete documentation index, see https://help.close.com/llms.txt.
> For AI client integration (Claude Code, Cursor, etc.), connect to the MCP server at https://help.close.com/_mcp/server.

# Editing, Merging, and Deleting Leads

> Edit Leads one at a time or in bulk, delete single Leads or groups of Leads, and merge duplicate Leads into one record in Close.

## Edit Leads

To make a change to a group of leads at once, first filter for those leads or go to an existing Smart View. All leads in your search or Smart View will be included in your bulk edit. Navigate to the menu in the upper-right, select **Bulk Edit**, then select the bulk action type from any of the following:

* Update lead status
* Update a lead custom field
* Clear a lead custom field
* Delete the leads

![Leads list view showing active filters, lead names, contacts, and status with bulk action menu in the top-right.](https://close-prd-help-docs.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/feature-guide/leads/edit-merge-delete-leads/leads_list_with_filters_481ab5.gif)

Apply your changes, and confirm. You will receive an confirmation email once the bulk edit is complete.

## Deleting Leads

### Deleting a single lead

You may need to delete leads for various reasons. To do so, on the left side of a leads page, click on the three dots button next to the lead status and select **Delete** from the menu that appears.

![Dropdown menu beside a lead showing actions like Edit Name, Merge, and Delete.](https://close-prd-help-docs.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/feature-guide/leads/edit-merge-delete-leads/lead_actions_menu_84cb23.png)

### Deleting leads in bulk

To delete many leads at once, search for the Leads you want to delete using your desired criteria using the Leads filter, then go to the More button (... ) in the upper-right and select **Bulk Edit**. Select **Delete the leads** from the dropdown and confirm.

![Leads list showing filters, lead names, contacts, and Not Interested status.](https://close-prd-help-docs.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/feature-guide/leads/edit-merge-delete-leads/leads_list_view_3fe843.gif)

## Merge Leads

In the event an existing lead needs to be merged with another lead, click into the lead menu found next to the lead status. Select **Merge**, then choose the destination lead.

A few things before you merge

1. Once merged, a lead can't be unmerged.
2. If conflicts exist in the lead name, description, status, or a custom field, we will keep the data from the destination lead and discard that data from the current lead.
3. For the final merged lead, we will utilize the "Date Created" and "Created By" values from the older of the two leads.

![Lead detail page showing activity timeline with status changes and tasks.](https://close-prd-help-docs.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/feature-guide/leads/edit-merge-delete-leads/lead_activity_timeline_f5cc0e.gif)