Enrolling Contacts in a Sequence

Enrolling Contacts in a Sequence


Contacts can be enrolled in a Sequence in a few ways:

  • Enroll an individual Contact from the Lead page;
  • Bulk enroll a list of Leads or Contacts from a Smart View;
  • Enroll an individual Contact as a follow-up to an email thread.

If bulk enrolling from a Lead Smart view, you will have the option to enroll the first Contact on the Lead or all Contacts on the Lead.

Modifying individual emails

At this time, it's impossible to modify the individual emails to particular recipients, for example, to add a personal note to each. All contacts will receive the same email templates (steps).

Enrolling Contacts Individually

To enroll a Contact from the Lead page, simply hover over the Contact name, select More indicated as (...), and then Enroll in Sequence.


5bd6d59-new.gif

Unenrolling your Contacts from a Sequence

You can manually unenroll a Contact from a Sequence by going to the Lead page, expanding the Contact card, selecting More indicated as (...), Manage Sequences, and Unenroll.


Unenrolling a Contact from a Sequence vs. Pausing the Sequence for that Contact
When a Contact is unenrolled from a Sequence, it will be like that Contact was never enrolled in said Sequence (the enrollment subscription is deleted). Any metrics related to this subscription will be removed from your database, and you won't be able to resume the Sequence from the last step. Unenrolling allows you to enroll the Contact in the Sequence again, which will be sent from the first step.

If a Sequence subscription is paused, you can resume the Sequence later if needed. By resuming the Sequence, the Contact will only receive the steps it hadn't received before. Pausing also keeps all the metrics related to the previous steps of the Sequence.

Enrolling Contacts in Bulk

To enroll Contacts in bulk, simply build out your search query or select a Smart View and click "Enroll" in the top-right.

73876dc-new.gifSubscribe contacts to a sequence in bulk
Contacts that are already enrolled in a sequence

Close will never send the same Sequence to the same Contact twice.

Each contact can be subscribed to a specific sequence only once. That means if you try to subscribe contacts in bulk that are already part of the sequence - Close will just ignore that, and they will not receive duplicate sequence emails.

Automatic email address duplicate detection within the same lead

In case you have the same email address on multiple contacts within the same Lead, Close will subscribe only the first Contact to a sequence. This works out-of-the-box without any configuration required. 

Note: if you have the same email address on multiple Leads, they will receive duplicated email sequences.

Enrolling Contacts as a follow-up to an email

You have the option to enroll a Contact in a Sequence as a follow-up to an initial, unique email. If your prospect doesn’t reply after a specific time period, they are automatically enrolled in the Sequence of your choice.

You can set this up the same way you would create a follow-up reminder on an individual email.

Before sending your email:

  • Check the box to remind you to follow up;
  • Pick a timeframe;
  • Select "send an Email Sequence" from the drop-down menu;
  • Choose your Sequence.

Press send, and you are all set!

cc51c46-close-emailsequences-subscribecontactonfollowup.gif


Email Thread

The follow-up Sequence steps will appear in the same thread as the initial email.