Roles & Permissions

Transparency and Productivity

We believe that transparency promotes productivity. That is why everything you do within Close is visible to everyone on your team.

That said though, we also know that certain actions like managing customizations, bulk editing, and bulk deleting information in the system should understandably be off limits for some users.

The Roles & Permissions menu relates directly to a Users' accessibility within Close. You can create Roles that limit or enable a user’s capability to perform specific actions within the system.

Can certain leads be made private or visible to specific users?

Because Close is designed to encourage a transparent and collaborative sales process, Close does not restrict specific leads from specific salespeople. Want to learn more? Click here.

What Roles and Permission Can I Use?

I'm on the Business Plan:

  • In addition to four predefined roles with unique permissions, you will be able to create, clone/copy, edit, and assign custom roles and permissions.

I'm on the Professional or Basic Plan:

  • The ability to create and edit customized Roles and Permissions is only available on the Business plan.
  • The Basic and Professional plans include four predefined roles and permissions you may use and assign to your users.
  • If you created custom Roles and Permissions while on one of our legacy plans and later downgraded to Professional or Basic, you will still be able to utilize those the custom Roles and Permissions within your organization. While you can't edit those custom Roles going forward, you will still be able to assign users to them.

Can I upgrade to Business, edit the legacy Roles, and then downgrade to Professional or Basic?

In short, no. The legacy Custom Roles (see above) remain available only during the one-time transitioning from a legacy plan to a new plan. Once the change is completed, your organization is now on a new plan.

Custom Roles & Permissions are a feature only of the Business plan and will be removed if you downgrade from Business to Professional or Basic once on a new plan.

What are the four predefined roles and permissions?

Each plan (Basic, Professional, and Business) includes the four predefined roles shown below. If you'd like additional details regarding the permissions of each role, click the appropriate links below. These are predefined roles and may be assigned to any user, but may not be edited or modified.

Assign, Create, Duplicate, or Edit Roles and Permissions

Assign Roles

To assign existing Roles to your users:

  1. Go to Settings > Team
  2. Click Edit to the right of the team member's name.
  3. Select the role you would like to assign and then click Save.
Assigning Roles to Users

Assigning Roles to Users

Create Roles

If your account uses the Business plan, you may create a new Role:

  1. Go to Settings > Roles & Permissions
  2. Toward the top right, click the New Role button
  3. Type a name for the new role you're creating (e.g., "Sales Associate User")
  4. Toggle on/off the desired Permissions for the new role
  5. Once satisfied with the Permissions you've selected, click Save at the top right
  6. Visit Settings > Team to apply the new Role to appropriate user accounts
Creating a New Role

Creating a New Role

How can I tell if the Permission enabled or disabled?

Enabled Permissions show the toggle button to the right and display a blue color. Disabled Permissions show the toggle button to the left and display a gray color.

Enable or disable single permissions or entire permissions groups

Enable or disable single permissions or entire permissions groups

Edit Roles

If your account uses the Business plan, to edit an existing Role:

  1. Click on a role under Settings > Roles & Permissions
  2. From there, click the toggle button to enable or disable specific Permissions for the role.
  3. Once you're satisfied, click Save at the top right of the page.

Pro Tip: You can enable or disable entire sections of permissions with one click

The toggle button at the top of each permission category to quickly enable or disable entire groups of permissions in one click. The animation above depicts this as well.

Duplicate Roles

If your account uses the Business plan, you may Duplicate an existing Role to create a new one:

  1. Go to Settings > Roles & Permissions
  2. Click the Duplicate this Role button in the top right of the Role you'd like to Duplicate
  3. Type a name for the new role you're creating (e.g. - "Sales Associate User")
  4. Toggle on/off the desired Permissions for the new role
  5. Once satisfied with the Permissions you've selected, click Save at the top right
  6. Visit Settings > Team to apply the new Role to appropriate user accounts
Business plan users: Click "Duplicate this Role" to create a copy of an existing role.

Business plan users: Click "Duplicate this Role" to create a copy of an existing role.

Adjust Custom Field Editing Restrictions

After you set up your Roles & Permissions in Close, you can restrict which Roles have access to edit specific Custom Fields.

  1. Click Settings > Customizations
  2. Scroll down to the Custom Fields section
  3. Click Edit next to the existing Custom Field you would like to restrict
  4. Enable the toggle switch for Restrict Editing and select which Roles should be allowed to edit the Custom Field
Edit Permissions on Custom Fields

Edit Permissions on Custom Fields


Roles & Permissions


Suggested Edits are limited on API Reference Pages

You can only suggest edits to Markdown body content, but not to the API spec.