Legacy Plans, Billing, and Payments

In February 2019, Close announced new plans and pricing meant to make Close more accessible to salespeople everywhere. This article helps customers still on legacy plans and pricing understand how they are billed for Close.

This information only applies to customers on Close's legacy Plans & Pricing.

Learn more about Close's current Plans & Pricing.

Plans & Billing Schedule

Your Close account is billed according to these two aspects of your subscription:

  1. Your Billing Schedule - You can pay for Close on a monthly or annual basis.
  2. Users & Plans - You can invite, remove, or edit a User and their Plan on the "Team" page within your Organization settings.
The "Team" page in your Organization settings

The "Team" page in your Organization settings

How your subscription is calculated

When a new billing period starts (monthly or annual), we calculate your subscription charges based on the number and type of seats in your account at that time. When a seat is added or upgraded, we prorate the seat costs based on the time left in your billing period.

If you're on a monthly Billing Schedule, prorated charges are grouped together at the end of each month. They appear on the same invoice issued at the start of each monthly billing period.

If you're on an annual Billing Schedule, prorated charges are grouped together and invoiced at the end of each month during your annual billing period.

No credit is given for users removed during a billing period. However, seats are not connected to a specific user. If you remove a user in the middle of your billing period, you can replace them with someone else with the same plan type.

Close's Legacy Plans & Pricing

Prior to February 2019, here are Close's old subscription plans and pricing:

Plan
Billed Monthly
Billed Annually (10% off)

Basic

$65 / user

$59 / user

Professional

$110 / user

$99 / user

Business

$165 / user

$159 / user

SMS Usage rates & billing

Free $10 monthly Usage credit

As a Close customer, we reload $10 of free Usage credit into your account. This free credit resets every month and does not roll over.

Once your free credit is used, we'll start to deduct from your Usage credit balance. You can adjust your monthly limit and auto-recharge settings on the Usage page in Billing.

Supported countries and Usage rates

Close supports sending and receiving SMS messages with SMS-enabled phone numbers in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, and Australia. SMS usage is charged according to Twilio's current SMS pricing, rounded up to the nearest cent.

SMS messages cannot be sent between phone numbers from different countries (except for the US and Canada). To determine if your Close phone number is SMS-enabled, please contact Support.

For reference, here are some example SMS rates based on Twilio's current pricing:

Country - Number Type
Per Outgoing SMS
Per Incoming SMS

US / CA - Local (+1)

$0.01

$0.01

GB - Mobile

$0.04

$0.01

AU - Mobile

$0.06

$0.01

A note about SMS "units"

SMS rates are charged per SMS "unit", not per message. An SMS sent via Close can consist of one or more units. If you're only using characters in the English alphabet, each unit is 140 characters. Otherwise, if you're using foreign characters or emoji, a unit can contain as little as 33 characters.

Adjusting Monthly Spending Limit

By default, we set your team's Monthly Spending Limit budget to $100 per month. To adjust or increase your budget, go to the "Usage" page in your Billing settings:

Setting a Monthly Spending Limit for your team.

Setting a Monthly Spending Limit for your team.

Recharge your balance automatically with Auto-Recharge

Make sure that your team can continue to make calls and send SMS without interruption by adjusting your Auto-Recharge settings. Once your Usage credit balance drops below a certain amount, we'll automatically top off your balance according to your Auto-Recharge Settings:

Adjust your Auto-Recharge Settings to automatically top off your Usage credit balance.

Adjust your Auto-Recharge Settings to automatically top off your Usage credit balance.

Adjust payment method, view past invoices

On the "Payment" page in your Billing settings, you add/change your Payment Method, adjust your invoice details (contact email, address, VAT information, etc), and see your past invoice history:

Add/change your Payment Method, adjust your invoice details, and see your past invoice history on the "Payment" page in your Billing settings.

Add/change your Payment Method, adjust your invoice details, and see your past invoice history on the "Payment" page in your Billing settings.

Legacy Plans, Billing, and Payments


In February 2019, Close announced new plans and pricing meant to make Close more accessible to salespeople everywhere. This article helps customers still on legacy plans and pricing understand how they are billed for Close.

Suggested Edits are limited on API Reference Pages

You can only suggest edits to Markdown body content, but not to the API spec.