> For clean Markdown of any page, append .md to the page URL.
> For a complete documentation index, see https://help.close.com/llms.txt.
> For AI client integration (Claude Code, Cursor, etc.), connect to the MCP server at https://help.close.com/_mcp/server.

# Managing users and cancellation

> Add and remove users in Close, reassign their Leads, tasks, and phone numbers, route their calls and emails, and cancel or undo canceling your account.

## Adding Users to Close

Admins can invite new users from **Settings > Team Management**. Click **+ New User**, enter the teammate's email address, select their role, then click **Invite** to send an invitation email.

Before inviting additional users, make sure you're subscribed to an active plan in **Settings > Billing > Plan**. Plans are billed per user, so your charges are based on the number of users on your plan.

The invited user must accept the invite, verify their email address, and complete signup to join your organization. They'll sign in with their own email address and set or reset their password using the standard password flow.

Newly invited users need to verify their email address before they can make changes in Close; until they do, their account is read-only. [Read more about email verification here](/account-management/verify-your-email-address).

If the user hasn't accepted the invitation and completed signup yet, they won't be fully joined to your organization.

> **What role should I use?**
>
> Before adding users, we recommend reading about [roles and permissions](/v1/docs/roles-permissions).

## Removing Users from Close

If you're an Admin of your Account, you can head to **Settings** **>** **Team Management** to add or remove Users from your team.

If you remove a User, we do **not** delete any of that user's activity in Close - you'll still see their name next to all their Activities (Calls, Emails, Notes, etc.) on Leads. When a user is removed, existing Custom Field values with that User's name are unaffected, and a user will remain a member of their [Groups](/v1/docs/groups) (if any).

If you change your mind, you can always add the removed User back again (just enter the same email address as before), and they'll instantly be added back into the team.

Removing a User midway through your billing cycle - whether on a Monthly or Annual subscription - will keep that User's seat open until the start of the next billing cycle so another User can be added in their place. Refunds are not automatically given, as you have the opportunity to invite another User.

### Reassigning leads

In order to reassign any leads that may be assigned to this user, you can simply run a bulk edit from within Close. First, you'll search for any leads that would be assigned to this user (done via a user type custom field in Close), and then bulk edit that list to assign those leads to another member(s) of the team.

### Reassigning tasks, opportunities, and phone numbers

During the removal process, you can select which other user you'd like to reassign the removed user's open tasks, opportunities, and phone numbers to using the reassign menus.

![](https://close-prd-help-docs.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/account-management/plans-and-billing/adding-and-removing-users/remove_user_modal_e17f56.png)

### Keeping the removed user's number and routing calls

If the User account you're removing has a phone number attached and you'd like to continue using that number to receive incoming calls, you can do one of two options before you remove the account:

1. You can re-assign the phone number from one user to another using the reassign menu. If you're on our Business plan, you can also make the phone number into a group number (note: you will be the only member of this group number initially).

2. You can port the number out of Close and into a new phone carrier. Contact your new carrier for details.

### Routing incoming emails

To route incoming emails to other members of your team, we recommend handling that via your email provider with forwarding rules. [Here's a guide on how to set up forwarding rules within Gmail.](https://support.google.com/mail/answer/10957?hl=en)

### Email Workflows

When a user is removed, any active email workflows being sent from this user will be stopped.\
If you wish to continue the active email workflow but have them instead come from an active user, please contact support before removing the user.

### Reporting

Once a user is removed, you'll still have the ability to select them in Activity Overview and Activity Comparison reports. They'll be listed as an Inactive User, and their data will be included in any date range where the user was active and the user filter for "All users with data" is selected.

### API Keys

When a user is removed, any associated API keys will also be disabled. If the user you're removing has configured any integrations with Close, those will need to be reconnected using an API key from an active user.

## Cancellation

To cancel your account, go to **Settings > Billing > Plan** and scroll down to **Cancel account**. Your account will be automatically canceled **at the end** of your monthly or annual billing period. Until then, you'll have full access to your Close account.

After an organization is deactivated or canceled, Close purges (permanently deletes) the organization's lead data 91 days later by default. If you reactivate within that period, your data may still be available; after 91 days it's removed.

![](https://close-prd-help-docs.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/account-management/plans-and-billing/adding-and-removing-users/cancel_plan_modal_606812.jpg)

### Undo Cancellation

At any time during your cancellation period, you can go to your **Settings > Plan > Undo Cancellation** to abort the cancellation and continue with your regular billing:

![](https://close-prd-help-docs.s3.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/account-management/plans-and-billing/adding-and-removing-users/cancellation_notice_e52644.jpg)

> **Product Help: Cancelling**
>
> You must be assigned an Admin role within Close to cancel an account.
>
> We recommend exporting your account data before canceling (leads, activities, and other records) so you have a local backup, especially in case your organization's data is purged after cancellation. You can get instructions for that on [our export page here](/v1/docs/exporting-data).
>
> If you'd like to keep your phone numbers on a new platform, we also recommend porting them out of Close. Please contact your new carrier for instructions on how to do this. Most carriers will require proof of ownership documentation, which you can request from [support@close.com](mailto:support@close.com).